jump to navigation

Aansoo – آنسو May 13, 2009

Posted by Farzana Naina in Poetry.
Tags: ,
trackback

The Heat of Midnight Tearsmail by Priy@

Listen, my friend, this road is the heart opening,

Kissing his feet, resistance broken, tears all night.

If we could reach the Lord through immersion in water,

I would have asked to be born a fish in this life.

If we could reach Him through nothing but berries and wild nuts,

Then surely the saints would have been monkeys when they came from the womb!

If we could reach him by munching lettuce and dry leaves,

Then the goats would surely go to the Holy One before us!

If the worship of stone statues could bring us all the way,

I would have adored a granite mountain years ago.

Mirabai says: The heat of midnight tears will bring you to God.

mail by Priy@

The Music

My friend, the stain of the Great Dancer has penetrated my body.

I drank the cup of music, and I am hopelessly drunk.

Moreover I stay drunk, no matter what I do to become sober.

Rana, who disapproves, gave me one basket with a snake in it.

Mira folded the snake around her neck, it was a lover’s necklace, lovely!

Rana’s next gift was poison: “This is something for you, Mira.”

She repeated the Holy Name in her chest, and drank it, it was good!

Every name He has is praise; that’s the cup I like to drink, and only that.

“The Great Dancer is my husband,” Mira says, “rain washes off all the other colors.”

mail by Priy@sufi music

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

